Daring Bakers – Lemon Meringue Pie

It’s Daring Baker time again!  December was a bit of a rough month for me with way too many doctor appointments and holiday commitments, but I was determined to bake again in January!  I love the Daring Baker challenges, as well as the camraderie that goes along with this group.  Go here to visit the other Daring Bakers

This month our challenge was Lemon Meringue Pie. I’ve made some pie crusts before, but I really haven’t made many pies. My mom and my aunt are the pie makers in my family. I’m more the one that brings creme brulee to every gathering. But, I love Lemon Meringue and so was very much looking forward to this challenge.

For the full recipe, visit Jen at the Canadian Baker.

Lemon Meringue Pie

First, the crust. I’m a hand person when it comes to making crust. I know a lot of people do them in food processors, but I want to be able to look and feel the butter and how small it’s getting. I’ve done mine with my hands before, this time I used a pastry cutter.

Being winter in Minnesota, my house is very dry. The recipe called for 1/3 cup of water. I added about 1/2 cup, but I was a little nervous about adding it since I didn’t want to overmix the pastry. Even with the extra water, my dough was a little dry.

It rolled out fairly well. I could see nice chunks of butter, but parts stuck to the counter and it didn’t necessarily make it to the pie pan all in one piece. A little patchwork and we were good though.

Someday, I will invest in pie weights. Until then, it’s whatever looks old in the cupboard.

The lemon curd was super easy to make! I’m not sure why I thought that would be labor intensive. Boil water, add cornstarch and sugar, temper in eggs, add lemon juice.

The meringue whipped up perfectly. I admit, after reading others posts about weepy meringue and the meringue needing to go on top of hot filling, I smudged the directions a bit. I didn’t let the filling cool completely, just the amount of time it took me to make the meringue.

And still, it wept. I had incredibly tasty lemon meringue soup. I’m sad it looks so horrible because it tasted delicious! Possibly some of the best lemon meringue pie I’ve ever had. It even kept for four days before I threw it out! I will definitely make this again, but I’ll most likely make the meringue first and make sure it goes over a HOT filling.

17 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Lemon Meringue Pie”

  1. Baking Soda Says:

    ohh so sad…I’m glad it tasted so good though! Pic of the finished pie is to die for!

  2. DaviMack Says:

    Wasn’t it supposed to go over a room-temperature filling? I’m glad that you ate it anyway, despite the runniness!

  3. Sathya Says:

    As long as it tasted good, right? I thought it was delicious too. Well done.

  4. Courtney Says:

    What a bright, cheerful accesorized kitchen in cold Minn! Im glad it tasted good.

  5. Deborah Says:

    The taste is what matters the most! I loved it too!

  6. linda Says:

    It looked wonderful before you cut it, that counts for something too ;)
    I agree, it tasted great!

  7. Karen Says:

    That lemon curd looks great! I agree, possibly the best I’ve ever tasted.

  8. Tina Says:

    Great job!! It looks beautiful regardless of the slicing into soup ;) its such a trip to see how everyones turned out so differently, I love these challenges!

  9. Miss Ifi Says:

    well your pie looked really nice, but I am sorry it turned into a soupy mess, still if it tasted good it is ALL good!!! Congratulations on your challenge

  10. Kaykat Says:

    Aww … mine cried a bit too, but a little chilling made it happy!

    No worries, am sure it tasted great.

  11. Tartelette Says:

    I think you did great! The pie looks yummy and I am glad to hear you emjoyed it. No need for pie weights but larger beans like black beans or mixed work better for pie weights, they cover the bottom but also let the air circulate throughout.

  12. Andrea Says:

    Mine turned to soup, too! Your meringue looks really great. Hope your pregnancy is going well.

  13. Angel Says:

    Good job with the challenge, I love how your meringue looks. Even if it was soupy the taste is what matter most. I could eat that lemon curd all day… although my thighs probably wouldn’t thank me.

  14. Dolores Says:

    If you’re making pie crust by hand, you’re more of a pie pro than this one of us, for sure. It looks great, even if it ultimately was easier eaten with a spoon than a fork.

  15. Lisa Says:

    Oh that last picture looks so sad! At least it tasted good!

  16. Jenny Says:

    I had to add a bunch of extra water too, but the crust was my favorite part in the end.

  17. jj Says:

    So long as it tasted good, right? But it looks very nice. I haven’t joined the Daring Baker’s yet, but the more I read about this cake and everyone’s experiences, the more I want to try it just to see what happens!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

