Daring Bakers – Danish Braid

I always think I have little baking experience, but I think that mainly comes from the fact that most yeast things that I try to bake don’t really turn out. But the truth is, I used to assist cooking classes and one summer I assisted a ton of baking classes. You don’t realize how much information you’ve absorbed until you have to turn around and use it! Luckily I had seen laminated dough made in one of those classes, so it wasn’t intimidating to me. Again, my main challenge would be time, although thank goodness for maternity leave!

The recipe was for yeasted laminated dough. We were required to make one danish braid and then could do whatever we wanted with the rest of the dough. I chose to make two danish braids, mainly because I didn’t want to freeze the dough. I ate one and gave the other to my friend who helped me put the braid together. Her family loved it!

I don’t always have time to read all of the questions regarding the challenge, but I did notice that a few people had issues with the dough. I had zero. I chilled my flour, it wasn’t very humid, and everything rolled out perfectly. I was able to make the dough and do my turns in between naps and bottles.

For my filling, I decided to do pastry cream and mixed berries. I love pastry cream. Love it! Plus, I’ve made it before and knew I could make it quickly (major consideration). For the mixed berries, I used fresh blueberries, blackberries and raspberries. I followed the apple filling recipe for the most part. The berries were a little soupier than I would have liked, but they turned out very nicely.

Our one mistake was not filling and braiding the first one *on* the sheet pan we were baking it on. We eventually got it onto the parchment paper, but it took a lot of maneuvering since the braid was fairly heavy at that point. Second time around we made the braid on the parchment paper.

For the full recipe, visit Kelly at Sass & Veracity.

The rolled out dough, cut into strips.

With the filling down the middle. After tasting the finished product, we definitely could have put more pastry cream in.

Extra braids? Just cut them off and use them to seal the ends! Genius.

Egg wash, sugar, and sprinkled almonds.

Voila! Delicious!

12 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Danish Braid”

  1. Courtney Says:

    You did good. I want to do some PT work assisting classes just for the knowledge.

  2. Lorrie Says:

    you did such a great job, you should be really proud of your braid!

  3. breadchick Says:

    Lovely danish, especially with the almonds on top!

  4. DaviMack Says:

    We made the same mistake with not making the braid on the parchment, and had a lot of fun (and fear) trying to roll it onto the parchment after the fact!

    Glad it all turned out for you!

  5. Laura Says:

    You braid has such a nice sheen and golden brown color! YUMMY

  6. Miss Ifi Says:

    Having information stored in your brain is always good!!!.. is funny how much knowledge we can absorb without really realizing it *giggles*
    Your braids look amazing and well the filling looks delicious!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS on your challenge ^_^

  7. Rebecca Says:

    Mmmmmm, nice job! Mixed berries … deeelish.

  8. Dharm Says:

    Your Braid looks super! Love the pastry cream and cherries filling.

  9. Ben Says:

    Great job, your braid turned out perfect. Thank you for baking with us :)

  10. Claire Says:

    That inside sounds WONDERFUL! Great job.

  11. Dolores Says:

    The ‘maternity leave offers a ton of free time to bake’ thing was sounding really good, until we got to ‘between naps and bottles’. :) You’re a stronger and more organized woman than I. Great job… beautiful braids!

  12. Debyi Says:

    Your braid looks really yummy! Can I have a bite? Your filling sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

