Daring Bakers – Filbert Gateau

Oh, the Daring Bakers. When I first joined the group (a year ago!) the recipes were challenging but fun. When I came back to the group after having the girls, baking the recipes made me feel like a real person again. This month, it just felt like a lot of work.

I made this month’s cake for the girls baptism, which was both a good and a bad idea. Good, because I was in the baking, organizational mode. Bad, because it just piled stress onto an already stressful weekend. I did have some help baking this cake. My friends Amy and Amanda helped and truly, without them, it wouldn’t have gotten made.

I had high hopes for the recipe. The picture was gorgeous, I do love me some hazelnuts, and I had never tried my hand at swiss buttercream. But the recipe was complicated and difficult to understand, there were a lot of moving parts, it took forever, and in the end, it just didn’t come together that well. There will not be a repeat of this cake.

Please go see the lovely Chris at Mele Cotte for the full recipe.

Filbert Gateau with Praline Buttercream

As always, I made this cake in parts over several days. First up was the cake.

I baked the cake in a 10″ springform pan which worked very well.

Despite much tapping, the cake sank a little in the center. It looked good though!

And now we get to the part where I took no pictures. While the cake was being made I made the praline paste and the sugar syrup. Small note about the praline paste, totally misread the part about processing longer to get it to an actual paste. Mine stayed at crumbs. Oops. The next day I made the swiss buttercream. I was nervous, but wow! It came together with no issues and I have to say, I loved it. Just the right sweetness and a great consistency.

Cake assembly! Amy was scared to cut the cake into three sections so I went at it. Brave does not mean skilled. The sections were not created equal, and while I hoped we could fix the issues with buttercream, that didn’t especially work.

First layer finished.

Second layer finished.

The ganache was fun to put on the cake, although terribly messy. I did hate to waste all of that chocolate. There were no real issues until I pulled the buttercream out of the fridge to pipe with. It was a tad hard. It never really softened properly, it was really more that the butter melted. When I would squeeze the pastry bag butter would squish out first, then the frosting. It worked okay though.

A finished piece of cake. =( As you can see, my layers didn’t work so well.

6 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Filbert Gateau”

  1. Courtney Says:

    wow for all the work sorry you didnt enjoy the cake. It looks really beautiful and congrats on the baptism.

  2. Ann Says:

    Your cake looks really terrific, even if you were disappointed in it.

  3. Dharm Says:

    sorry you didnt like the cake. but good on you for doing the challenge!

  4. Molly Says:

    Your genoise looks lovely. That’s always a good thing to master. I too felt there were entirely too many parts to this cake. I didn’t even get it finished. I found Dorie Greenspans l’Opera, though complicated, much easier and boy was it delicious.

  5. Dana Says:

    I’m sorry the experience was negative for you, but it is supposed to be a little difficult. Your genoise rose quite well!

  6. Lauren Says:

    Your cake looks wonderful, I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

