Daring Bakers – Lavash Crackers

This month’s challenge went down a slightly different path. There was no butter or cream. No chocolate or fruit. Instead, we were tasked with Lavash crackers plus a dip that was gluten free and vegan. I was excited for so many reasons. First, I’ve always wanted to make a cracker. Second, with two little ones that are eating now, soon crackers would be the perfect finger food. And third, with the bounty coming out of the gardens, I would have tons of inspiration for a dip or relish.

I will absolutely make this recipe again. I’m sad I made it late in the game and didn’t have time to play around with toppings. I know several Daring Baker’s did a sweet version of this with cinnamon and sugar. Yum. I will definitely play around with this in the coming months.

Thank you to Natalie and Shel for hosting. You can visit their sites for the full recipe.

First time I made the cracker, it totally bombed. My bread flour was old and I think it had no gluten left. No matter how much I kneaded it just never got to that windowpane consistency. I thought maybe rising would help it. No. Maybe rolling and baking? No. It came out of the oven with a flat, dull taste and was awful. I made it again last night and was so nervous. I kneaded and kneaded, but worried I hadn’t kneaded enough. The dough rose beautifully though, and rolled out perfectly. Or had it? Suddenly in the oven the dough was looking too thick! I worried that again I had somehow messed this up. But when I snapped pieces off and tasted it, it was so good! I think I could still roll it thinner, but I’ll happily eat what I have!

I have tomatoes coming out of my ears, but that wasn’t the direction I wanted to go with my dip. Instead I was drawn to the eggplants I saw at the Farmer’s Market. I went with this recipe, with some slight variations. I really loved it. It tasted fresh, perfect for the end of summer and help up well over several days in the fridge.
Eggplant Dip
1 medium eggplant
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup fresh tomato, chopped
1 T. olive oil
1 T. lemon juice
2 T. minced green onions
2 T. minced parsley

Cut the eggplant in half lengthwise. Bake, cut side down at 400 degrees for 60 minutes. Once the eggplant is cooled, use a spoon to scoop pulp from the skin; discard skin. Mash the pulp in a bowl with a fork. Add the other ingredients and blend well. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Cover and chill for at least 2 hours before serving.

3 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Lavash Crackers”

  1. Baking Soda Says:

    Yes, those will be perfect for growing little ones! Healthy and tasty! Great job on the challenge!

  2. Dharm Says:

    This was indeed a fun challenge. Your crackers look just great and you can never go wrong with eggplant dip!!

  3. Andrea Says:

    Good for you! Your lavash and eggplant dip look great.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

