Daring Bakers – Caramel Cake

I scooted in just under the wire this month!  The most difficult thing about the Daring Baker challenges is deciding when to bake them.  I like to have someone eat my hard work, but sometimes social events don’t coincide with when I have time to bake them.  I wanted to do this cake for my dad’s birthday, but Thanksgiving and his birthday pretty much coincided.  So instead, I did cupcakes thinking people could munch on them throughout the day.  After reading Shuna’s notes, I would like to make this again as a cake to see how it would turn out.  The cupcakes were fabulous!

Caramel Cake
Recipe by Shuna Fish Lydon
Thank you to Dolores, Alex, and Jenny for hosting!

I was really horrible about taking pictures this month, so apologies for lack of evidence!  I read through Shuna’s notes on the cake to ensure everything would turn out.  I beat the batter until it was light and fluffy and really tried to incorporate the ingredients before moving on to the next one.  The caramel sauce, oh the caramel sauce!  While it was cooking it was thin and I had no faith in it.  But once it cooled, it was beautiful!  I cooked it just a little bit longer than I thought I needed to to get a stronger caramel flavor.  The buttercream frosting was easy and delicious, although I did have to add a little more cream at the end because it was too stiff to frost.  Overall, fabulous!  Although very sugary.  I added salt, but maybe I needed more?

3 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Caramel Cake”

  1. Andrea Says:

    I think making caramel cupcakes is very smart for a Thanksgiving dessert. They look great!

  2. Gretchen Noelle Says:

    Your cupcakes look great! Hope everyone enjoyed them!

  3. Dolores Says:

    I’m going you’re route with this recipe this weekend: cupcakes! Thanks for baking with us in November, and I’m glad your tasters enjoyed the end result.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

