Cranberry Almond Bread

I’ve been travelling quite a bit for work which allows me to eat fabulous meals in fabulous cities, but leaves my cupboards looking quite bare from neglect.   But, I’ve had the urge to cook something, anything.  Since my trip this week is short and my desire to hit the grocery store is low, I decided to just bake something.  My mom gave me a cookbook put together by her coworkers a few weeks ago and I’ve been paging through it.  I found a Cranberry Almond Bread recipe that looked promising.  I tweaked it a bit since it seemed heavy on the sugar, but I think it needs even more tweaking. 


Cranberry Almond Bread
2 c. flour
1/2 c. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt (I used 1/2 tsp.)
1 egg
1/2 c. milk
1/2 c. melted butter
2 tsp. almond extract (I used vanilla, but it would benefit from the extra almond flavoring)
1 – 6 oz. package of Craisins
1 T. sugar (I used 1/2 T.)
1/4 c. sliced almonds

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease a loaf pan. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a medium mixing bowl. In another mixing bowl, combine egg, milk, butter, almond extract and Craisins. Add to dry ingredients, mixing just until dry ingredients are moist. Spread batter in loaf pan. Sprinkle with sugar and almonds. Bake for 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Makes one loaf.

I used about 4 oz of Craisins and you should definitely use the full 6 oz. Also, wait to slice! I was impatient and wanted to taste it. It also seemed like a lot of butter and a lot of sugar. Next time I’d compare this recipe to a few online and possibly try to find ways to reduce one or both. I’m not one to use applesauce instead of oil, and I hate Splenda so really, I’d just like to see if those ratios are good.

4 Responses to “Cranberry Almond Bread”

  1. Tartelette Says:

    That is precisely what I love to make on sunday afternoons. Right before I go refill the cupboards! Great recipe!

  2. erincooks Says:

    Thanks! It lacked a little in flavor, but it was good enough that I’ll tweak it and try again.

  3. Elle Says:

    This looks like the perfect thing to have with a cup of tea on a lazy afternoon. I’ll bet the almond extract would up the flavor a little. Maybe brown sugar instead of white? Glad you are now a Daring Baker, too!

  4. TRONC Says:

    Hello, je vais essayer de faire votre recette , Cranberry Almond Bread, je n’écris pas l’Anglais, mais j’arrive à le lire.Merci pour ces bonnes recettes

Leave a Reply

