Hot Wings with Blue Cheese Tzatziki Sauce

 

You know when you’re looking through recipes and you find one you want to make it, but it requires an ice cream maker, stock pot, mini-muffin tin or some other piece of equipment you don’t have? Lately I’ve been bookmarking a ton of recipes that require a deep fryer. From my stint at the gourmet cooking store I have a well stocked kitchen. But I’ve never bought a deep fryer. My girlfriend Amy and I had talked about getting one, but had never made the purchase.

And then I watched Bobby Flay’s Chicken Wing Throwdown. And I needed to eat some buffalo wings. I called my brother thinking he would meet me out for some, but he’s remodelling his house and couldn’t break away. I casually mentioned it in an email to Amy where we were trying to decide what to make for our Friday cook-a-long. She was in! And so we were off to Target to buy a deep fryer. She bought one that has a nifty display so we could be sure of the temperature of the oil. So fun! I’m very excited about all of the new recipes we can bust out now. Donuts!! Beignets!! Fritters!!

We debated between the two Throwdown recipes and decided to do Bobby’s. In my wings, I like them more spicy than sweet and Bobby’s recipe seemed to deliver that. We modified it a bit based on our shopping and while our wings had some back end heat, they didn’t have a ton. It was perfect for us, but if you like your wings HOT, you’ll need to up the chile powder. Also, we halved his recipe since it was just the two of us. Also, also? We weren’t sure we’d be able to find greek yogurt, but we did find a pre-made tzatziki sauce. It made the perfect blue cheese sauce.

Hot Wings with Blue Cheese Tzatziki Sauce
adapted from Bobby Flay’s Throwdown recipe

For the Blue Cheese Sauce:
1/2 cup Tzatziki Sauce
1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
1 T. finely chopped red onion
1 T. chopped fresh parsley
Salt and fresh ground pepper

For the Hot Wings:
Canola oil
1/2 cup all purpose flour
Salt and fresh ground pepper
1 1/2 T. ancho chilli powder plus 1 tsp.
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 pound chicken wings (we used only drummies)
1/4 c. red wine vinegar
2 T. pureed chipotle chile’s in adobo
1 T. Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp. salt
1 T. honey
1/2 stick unsalted butter

For the Blue Cheese sauce:
Stir together the tzatziki, blue cheese, red onion, parsley, and salt and pepper. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

For the Hot Wings:
Heat oil in deep fryer until it reaches 375 F.

Stir together the flour, salt, and pepper to taste. Add 1 tsp. of ancho chili powder and garlic powder to bowl. Season the wings with salt and pepper, then dredge wings in the flour in batches. Tap off excess flour and load into deep fry basket. Cook for 8 to 10 minutes. Remove and place on a paper towel lined plate.

Bring the vinegar, chipotle puree, 2 T. chili powder to a simmer in a large high-sided saute pan over medium heat. Remove the mixture from the heat and whisk in the mustard, salt, honey, and butter until smooth. Add the wings to the mixture and toss to coat.

Serve with blue cheese sauce. Serves 2.

As you can see, these were TASTY.

3 Responses to “Hot Wings with Blue Cheese Tzatziki Sauce”

  1. Amy Says:

    Oh my goodness – just seeing them again makes me hungry! I can’t wait to figure out what else we can deep fry since deep frying seems to make just about anything taste good.

  2. erin Says:

    Like a dork, I labeled the oil with what we cooked in it and the date. I’m guessing if we wanted to do donuts or beignets we’d need to use different oil. Maybe we should stock up at Costco!

  3. brilynn Says:

    Anyone who just up and buys a deep fryer is a-ok in my books!

Leave a Reply

