Blueberry Pancakes!

The local gourmet cooking store does crop shares every year.  When I worked there, I used to consider doing the salad share every spring, but watching those boxes come through every week, I knew I’d never use enough of the vegetables to make it worthwhile.  The fruit share though?  Those I could do.  Normally I just get the blueberries, but one year I also bought cherries and that was just way too much fruit to try to eat.  I gave a lot away that year.

The share is ten pounds of blueberries.  I freeze some, I eat some, I give some to friends and family.  They are big and juicy and so sweet, they are the perfect summer snack.  I eat them on my breakfast every morning, but I need to start using them in other ways too.  So tonight for dinner it was blueberry pancakes!  I have a great pumpkin pancake recipe that I love, but no go to blueberry pancake recipes.  I looked through a few cookbooks before settling on the recipe in my Good Housekeeping cookbook.  Since I had Greek yogurt in the fridge, I added that in for a little extra tang. I think blueberry pancakes need to be a little thicker to balance out the blueberries, and these were perfect.  Not too thick, not too thin, with a nice ratio of blueberry to pancake.

Next up – blueberry muffins!

Blueberry Pancakes
1 cup all purpose flour
2 T. sugar
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1 cup milk
3 T. butter, melted
2 T. greek yogurt
1 large egg, slightly beaten
1 cup blueberries

In bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add milk, butter, yogurt, and egg and stir until flour is moistened. Fold in the blueberries.

Heat griddle or skillet over medium heat until drop of water sizzles; brush lightly with vegetable oil. Pour batter by scant 1/4 cups onto hot griddle. Cook until tops are bubble, some bubbles burst and edges look dry. With wide spatula, turn and cook until underside is golden.

One Response to “Blueberry Pancakes!”

  1. Deborah Says:

    I love eating breakfast for dinner!! These pancakes look perfect.

Leave a Reply

