Daring Bakers – Cinnamon and Sticky Buns

Before we get into this months Daring Baker post, a quick word to explain the radio silence as of late.  I’m pregnant with twins.  Food and I don’t have the best relationship anymore.  I don’t cook much since I go from not hungry to needing to eat NOW!  But, I have faith that I will get my appetite and my energy back in October.  So things should go back to normal soon. 

It’s Daring Baker time again!  This month, we all made cinnamon buns and sticky buns.  I was very excited because while most breads and sweets don’t appeal to me at all right now, breakfast type sweet breads totally do.  I made a pan of cinnamon buns and a pan of sticky buns.  Normally, I’m all about the cinnamon, but these sticky buns were so beyond fabulous that I’m now a believer. 

I served these to a group of friends and the general consensus was that the cinnamon buns were lacking.  We weren’t sure if they needed more salt or more filling, but they needed something.  As I said above, the sticky buns were sooooo good, but I think the incredible topping was what really made them fabulous.  It was creamy and gooey, without being too sweet or sticky.

For the full recipe, please visit Marce at Pip in the City. To see all of the Daring Baker posts, visit the Blogroll.

Cinnamon and/or Sticky Buns
My relationship with yeast is iffy. I’ve finally learned my lesson and always temp my water, but my house is drafty and so unless it’s summertime, it can be difficult to get a good rise. Since it was mid-September, I was pretty confident I would get a warm day, which I did. This recipe made the dough in a KitchenAid mixer. I’ve always done my dough by hand, mostly because that was the only way I knew how. Never again! The KitchenAid kneaded the dough so efficiently, I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner.

In two hours, my dough had doubled and I was ready to roll it out. I was a bit nervous since rolling dough is not my strong suit. This dough was beautiful! I have never had a dough roll out so perfectly and hold its shape so beautifully before.

For my filling, I did cinnamon, sugar, and ginger. I liked the combination, it just didn’t seem like enough for the cinnamon rolls. I would definitely tweak this next time. Again, the dough rolled up perfectly. For once, I didn’t have a roll that was skinny at the ends and fat in the middle.

At this point, I cut them into slices and wrapped them up and stuck them in the fridge, to transport later in the day to my girlfriend’s house.

Because I’m a crazy pregnant woman, I got up at 4:00am to pull them to proof for a second time. We had some draft issues and I was worried they wouldn’t raise, but they did! And were fabulous. I will definitely make these again.

22 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Cinnamon and Sticky Buns”

  1. slush Says:

    Congratulations on the twins, that is so exciting!!! And your buns and rolls look fabulous. Fantastic job!

  2. Anita Says:

    Congratulations on the twins! The toppings on the sticky buns look so yummy!

  3. kellypea Says:

    Totally agree that the sticky buns are the best. No contest. I’ll be experimenting with the cinnamon rolls because I like the dough. And I can’t believe you weren’t already hooked on your Kitchen Aid and dough hook. OMG that IS the reason I got the KA. My wrists couldn’t remotely handle the kneeding at this point. Congrats on your twins! When are you due?

  4. Maryann Says:

    They look great 🙂

  5. baking soda Says:

    Oh Erin! I know how you feel…yes I do know, mum of twins here! Congratulations sweetie! Tough job ahead but enjoyable, don’t worry, you’ll do just fine.
    No one cracked the buns in the oven joke yet? I won’t, but they look great!

  6. breadchick Says:

    Congrats on the twins and great job, considering you aren’t in the mood for food right now, on the buns! Baking Soda is right about the buns in the oven joke…

  7. peabody Says:

    Wow twins! How great for your family. Way to get the buns done while you have more than enough buns in your own oven 🙂

  8. Ivonne Says:

    Congratulations on the buns in the oven!!! That’s great news. And of course your cinnamon buns are gorgeous too!

  9. Jenny Says:

    They look lovely! Congrats on finding a way to do it even if you have a love/hate relationship with food right now.

  10. Dharm Says:

    Congrats on the twins! Such great news!! And dont those buns look super! Great job

  11. Chris Says:

    Great job! And Congrats of the twins!

  12. Belinda Says:

    Congratulations on the twins! Your cinnamon buns and sticky buns look really yummy…I found the cinnamon rolls to be heavenly, but then I didn’t make the sticky version for comparison. 🙂

  13. Lisa Says:

    Wow.. you’re number 3 of the DB members who are newly pregnant (so far – as I’m only in the M’s from starting at the bottom hee!) – Congratulations to you too! Twins! How fun!

    Wow your sticky buns look SO GOOD.. ooey and gooey just the way I like ’em! =)

    xoxo

  14. Deborah Says:

    Congrats on the twins!! Your buns look delicious!

  15. Tartelette Says:

    Congratulations on the twins! What a weird challenge that was: you na dother DBs being pregnant and you and Tanna waking up at 4am to make buns (but she had a different reasons than hormones). Your buns, all sets, look great!

  16. Tanna Says:

    Wait a minute . . . I can’t get which buns are in which oven or ovens is it AND another DB up at 4 AM! Whee . . . right Tartelette my bun have been out of the oven for years but I still love to give them hugs.
    Now about those buns that just came out of the oven (not the ones still in the oven) you have beautiful buns out of the oven and I sure like the sticky ones better also. In my wandering thru these many DB blogs I’ve seen several things to try on the plain ones like Tartelette’s pistachio and a rose spice combo at Lemonpi-Y!
    Congratulations on the twins! You will get your appetite back, it just happens!

  17. Anne Says:

    Congratulations to you! the buns looked great and glad you liked the challenged 🙂

  18. maria~ Says:

    Gad, don’t your bunz look tantalizing!

  19. Anh Says:

    What a great news!!!! Congratulation!

  20. Aoife Says:

    Yay Daring Bakers! Yay Kitchenaid! Yay twins, and congratulations!

  21. Julie Says:

    Wow, they look wonderful! I love seeing how big they get after proofing.

    I’m more and more sure with each post that the bakers who had the most mixer trouble had a lower-watt KitchenAid, like the Classic model. Yours looks like a Custom model, which is a 350 watt as opposed to the Classic’s 250-watt motor.

    Your lime green kitchen and my friend’s lime green kitchen would get along. 😉

  22. Dolores Says:

    Congratulations! Twins! The cinnamon didn’t give you fits? Every mother I know had problems with the smell of strong-sweet spices — cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and vanilla — stimulating their gag reflex early on. I’m glad it didn’t have that impact on you, I’d have missed your beautiful buns! 🙂

Leave a Reply

